The Thread I Didn't Think I'd Ever Start... or My Adventures With PAS

Discussion in 'Pedals' started by GibsonKramer, May 21, 2016.

1. GibsonKramer

GibsonKramer The Three G's Premium Member

I started playing guitar when I was 12 or 13. I took lessons for a while, but mostly learned to play by ear. I had crappy guitars, for the most part and even worse amps. I tried pedals a few times, trying to make my crappy guitars and amps, sound good. Plus, with barely the money for the guitars and amps, the pedals

I quit playing for a very long time. At least 18 years.

I finally walked into a store one day about two years ago, and asked to see a LP. My journey had restarted, with much joy and amazement. Bought a lot of guitars and amps, since.

I was happy. I had an guitar/amp, that hit about every tone I wanted. Though, for some of the 80s stuff I wanted to play... I really needed a bit more oomph. So I looked into pedals again.

I DIY'd my first pedalboard, after digging out a barely working CryBaby, OD and Flanger. The 2nd revision came out nice enough, I decided to put some money into it. I bought an isolated power supply. And I bought pedals. Lots of pedals. I believe every pedal I've purchased recently, has been this month only. Not sure when I bought the JHS wah, that started it.

Here's my recent purchases and my impressions of them. Personally, other than a chorus... I think I built just about the perfect board for me. I can plug it into the front end of any one of my amps, and most sound better than they ever did, for a lot of the stuff I play. Jubilee doesn't necessarily sound better, just different. More bite, for sure. Everything has a BIG bite to it.

[​IMG]

The only pedal I already owned before this mad journey started. The Boss CS-3, I bought probably a year ago.

[​IMG]

Chain Order: Volume (split to tuner) > Wah > Compressor/Sustain > Soul Food OD > EP Booster > Decimator II > Phase > Delay > Reverb