The Self Taught Guitarist's Survival Guide

Discussion in 'Guitar Lessons' started by mudfinger, Jul 16, 2010.

1. mudfinger

mudfinger Thanks for the memories. V.I.P. Member

So, you wanna play guitar?

Okay, then. Go take lessons, already, and stop spending so much practice time loafing around on MLP. :naughty:

If lessons aren't an option, and they aren't for some folks, then you're in for a very rough, but very rewarding challenge. When I took up the guitar, the prevailing wisdom amongst the professional rock, blues, and jazz guitarists that I knew was: You have to teach yourself if you want to be any good.

As much as I'd like to defer (and did, see above) to the professionals and experts who make their living teaching folks how to play and how to play better, I'm a DIY kinda guy by nature, and I DO see merit in teaching one's own self to play; guitar, especially rock and blues guitar, comes with a very small set of rules that everyone follows, and the rest is wide open, waiting for someone without any preconceptions of what should be done, to find his or her own way through the wilderness. You must get lost to truly find yourself.

The history of rock, jazz, and blues shows us that the greatest innovators were all self-taught. That's not a coincidence, in my view. But even the most die-hard autodidactic players didn't learn in a complete vacuum; there's always an uncle, or a friend, or a patient pro, willing to offer insights, sometimes even explanations, and in that sense, all of us were and are, students of the instrument.