The Official Axe-Fx II Thread

Discussion in 'Amp Modeling' started by IronWeso, Jan 23, 2016.

  1. ttbit

    ttbit Senior Member

    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    363
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Thanks for the info!!!
     
    NeubyWanKaneuby likes this.
  2. Caoimhin

    Caoimhin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,379
    Likes Received:
    8,472
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    I'm having fun with the Axe FX but honestly I'm disappointed with their Friedman and Orange models. I own a real BE100 and several Orange amps and you can't make any comparison between the actual amp and the model. The BE100 is probably my favorite amp ever made and know matter how much I mess around with it on the Axe Edit program, I just can't get it to sound like the real thing. Maybe they'll add the Butterslax model one day.
     
  3. ttbit

    ttbit Senior Member

    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    363
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    I don't own a Friedman amp, but one of the reasons I bought my AX8 was for the Friedman models. Fractal, to my ears, had the best "Marshall-type" sound of all "modelers" I heard and played with. This is not including Kemper profiling.

    I heard a BE100 cranked, and it is incredible. I don't have a high powered FRFR to emulate that, nor do I plan on trying. :) :)

    Are you saying they don't sound the same when "mic'd" or in the room? I am curious as you have REAL experience with that amp.
     
  4. Caoimhin

    Caoimhin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,379
    Likes Received:
    8,472
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    I've never mic'd my Friedman. I play is through a 4x12 or 2x12, sometimes both. When I use the model, I play it through a 2x12 powered FRFR cab. I can't say anything about the other Friedman models because I don't own any of their other stuff.

    I also own a JCM 800 2203x and I think Fractal does well with JCM 800 models.
     
    ttbit likes this.
  5. frankv

    frankv What Are You Waiting For? Double Platinum Supporter V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    14,522
    Likes Received:
    12,899
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    ^^^ It does well with Friedman and Orange as well. I have some presets that will light you up if you care to find them. They are from the Freman personal preset collection and feature 5 scenes that blows away the factory Friedman stuff.

    It is just a matter of setting the Fractal and choosing the best cabinet IR for the task.

    Here is what I mean when I say its a matter of the settings. Take a look at this Friedman Preset.

    [​IMG]

    Messing around with AXE EDIT and knowing what you are doing is two different things. I would suggest you go to AXE EXCHANGE and download a few patches made by guys that know what they are doing.. To be honest. I am not one of those that know AXE EDIT settings inside and out as I don't care. I have a thousand presets to play.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2017
    ttbit likes this.
  6. Pwrmac7600

    Pwrmac7600 Premium Member

    Messages:
    7,992
    Likes Received:
    6,236
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Curious to see how you would like the BE model if you turned cab sims off and ran it into your 4x12. Wonder if it would get any closer for you.
     
    frankv likes this.
  7. Caoimhin

    Caoimhin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,379
    Likes Received:
    8,472
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    I have no way to test that. I don't own a power amp and I don't have the cash to purchase one anytime soon.
     
  8. frankv

    frankv What Are You Waiting For? Double Platinum Supporter V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    14,522
    Likes Received:
    12,899
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Go through the FX Loop on your amp for a quick test
     
    Pwrmac7600 likes this.
  9. Pwrmac7600

    Pwrmac7600 Premium Member

    Messages:
    7,992
    Likes Received:
    6,236
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    but
    at that point you will want to disable the power amp modeling as well. So if you disable cab sims, and power amp sims, and run it into the FX loop of you BE, that would give you an idea how close the preamp is to your actual BE. It still won't solve your issue of getting a BE tone you are happy with though, because if you have to use your BE in order to get the Axe top sound like your BE then it defeats the purpose, lol.
     
    frankv likes this.
  10. frankv

    frankv What Are You Waiting For? Double Platinum Supporter V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    14,522
    Likes Received:
    12,899
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Exactly... But depending how neutral the power section of the Friedman is... It may at least be a rough test none the less. Then you would try it with AMP sims on to get a better idea
     
  11. Caoimhin

    Caoimhin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,379
    Likes Received:
    8,472
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    I'm a "dirty" player so I can't speak on the clean channel but my biggest problem with the model is I don't think the distortion channel sounds like the amp. I guess it's not a bad setting but it's no BE in my opinion. I don't know how to describe it but it sounds dull or dry.
     
  12. frankv

    frankv What Are You Waiting For? Double Platinum Supporter V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    14,522
    Likes Received:
    12,899
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    This says it all...

     
  13. kfowler8

    kfowler8 Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    4,772
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Placed my order for an Axe Fx tonight. How long does it usually take to ship?
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2018
    AllTheSound, Pwrmac7600 and frankv like this.
  14. frankv

    frankv What Are You Waiting For? Double Platinum Supporter V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    14,522
    Likes Received:
    12,899
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    A couple days... PM me if you want me to remote into your computer and give you a run down on it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2018
    AllTheSound likes this.
  15. kfowler8

    kfowler8 Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    4,772
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    I may do that Frank. I'm playing out next weekend but I can't imagine I'll be comfortable enough with it to use out.
     
    frankv likes this.
  16. frankv

    frankv What Are You Waiting For? Double Platinum Supporter V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    14,522
    Likes Received:
    12,899
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Do this while you wait.

    Go to the Fractal links below for the following.

    Get Fractal Bot. This is the update tool
    http://www.fractalaudio.com/fractal-bot.php

    This is where you get the Drivers for your computer
    http://www.fractalaudio.com/drivers.php

    This is what sets the Fractal AXE head and shoulder above any other. It's AXE EDIT
    http://www.fractalaudio.com/p-axe-edit-software.php

    You also need Asio drivers.
    http://www.asio4all.org/

    For the remote sessions.
    www.teamviewer.com

    Don't worry about any additional preset as I have a boat load to upload to you.
     
    kfowler8 and AllTheSound like this.
  17. kfowler8

    kfowler8 Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    4,772
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Great recommendation. I've been looking for training tools so this is perfect.
     
  18. KenG

    KenG Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,257
    Likes Received:
    3,328
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Not sure if the Fractal supports this but J Saddites ran some great tutorials using another modeller to demonstrate things using dual cabs, mic selection and placement as well as blending levels of mic &cab to really change how the final sound comes across. Another area to look is at the input, especially if the amps OD isn't as expected. Things like input impedances, compression and guitars output level can affect that.
     
  19. Pwrmac7600

    Pwrmac7600 Premium Member

    Messages:
    7,992
    Likes Received:
    6,236
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Axe-Fx II "Quantum" Rev 9.04 Firmware Release
    Mark I/II:
    www.fractalaudio.com/downloads/firmware-presets/axe-fx-2/Quantum/9.0/AxeFx2_Quantum_9p04.zip
    XL:
    www.fractalaudio.com/downloads/firmware-presets/axe-fx-2/Quantum/9.0/AxeFx2_XL_Quantum_9p04.zip
    XL+:
    www.fractalaudio.com/downloads/firmware-presets/axe-fx-2/Quantum/9.0/AxeFx2_XLplus_Quantum_9p04.zip


    ---------------------------------------------------------------------
    RELEASE NOTES

    9.04

    Improved speaker compression modeling and interaction with power amp. This results in a more dynamic response.

    Changed default cathode follower hardness (CF Hardness) to 0.75 to align better with measured values.
     
    frankv and kfowler8 like this.
  20. kfowler8

    kfowler8 Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    4,772
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    So my Axe is supposed to arrive today. I see they require a sig so I hope the wife is home when they deliver. Kind of sucks because I have rehearsal tonight so I won't get home until late. I'm all free the next two nights though.

    Some questions after doing some reading.

    Any of you use the SPDIF line to connect your Axe to your interface? I see it's fixed at 48 kHz. I've tried using this type of connection before with my Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 but ended up with some pops in the recordings. I may have had issues with my world clock.

    Which brings me to my next question. With the new Axe FX II XL+, isn't the world clock set to auto and you shouldn't have to adjust it with your interface? That was what I got out of the article I read.

    Are you plugging your units into any type of rack power strip? I've got two available. A Furman PL-8 and a cheap Musican's Gear MG900SC. The MG is nothing more than a glorified power strip. I'm not sure how much protection it really provides so I'm planning on using the Furman.

    Thanks,
     

Share This Page