The evolution of my Les Paul Studio Pearl 'Black Burst'

Discussion in 'The Custom Shop' started by dubster82, Aug 23, 2016.

1. dubster82

dubster82 Senior Member

Well, Thought i'd do a thread on my longest owned Les Paul and most modified. It's been through a lot.

I'll do this in stages for definition and incase anyone quotes me.

In 1998 I was 16. I had just gotten a job and had money to spend. Not a lot, I was an apprentice Electrician and it would be of been around £1 an hour but still more than the nothing I had up until that point. My only electric at that point was a red Jim Deacon strat copy I bought in '94 with Christmas money and I felt i could do with an upgrade. It was a different time back then. I didn't know anything about guitars other than how to play them. I didn't know models, brands other than fender and probably Gibson. I didn't know terms, I didn't know about pickups or construction and materials. Clueless, an easier time. :D

I popped along to one of the local music stores and just looked with my eyes wide open. I'm pretty sure I probably wanted a black guitar as black is my favourite colour (i think everything looks better black) but I had no idea of what it would be. Well, I clapped eyes on this Epiphone Les Paul and I fell in love :naughty: It was so different to my strat in soo many ways and I loved everything about it. The floating pearl effect scratch plate, the carved top, the bigger pickups; the neck that wasn't screwed on! Even though the shop was dark you could just see that it wasn't solid black, you could see the grain in the centre but not round the edges. I used to love Fenders sunburst Stratocasters but this was like that, but in an real awesome and classy way set off by the pearl plastics.

Pics, unbelievably I don't have any pictures of it from 1998.... but when Les Paul passed, I'm sure you all know about the massive auction of his estate... well here's pics of his one :applause:

[​IMG][​IMG]