Taking Flight With Vibrato

Discussion in 'Guitar Lessons' started by SlapChop, Sep 1, 2010.

1. SlapChop

SlapChop Senior Member

I have gained a natural ability to use vibrato in my time playing guitar as a self taught player. It sounds ok, but I really want to make my guitar sing like Paul Kossoff!

Check out the solo at around 2:15. I can't listen to this without getting chills.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FhCilozomo[/ame]

Here's where I'm at:

SoundClick artist: Tangled up in Tweed - page with MP3 music downloads

Can anyone recomend any excercises, tecniques, books, DVD's, acupuncturists, hypnotists, or anything to help take it to the next level? :)

2. Phil47uk

Phil47uk Senior Member

I can see where you are trying to get although personally I'm not a great fan of Koss's vibrato as for me it's too hectic too quickly, but then everyone to his or own taste.
    What he basically does is apply a very fast vibrato as soon as the note is struck, unlike say myself say who introduces the vibrato more like a vocalist.

To appreciate this you really need to listen to vocalists. Some vocalists have what I call a nanny goat vibrato which they introduce very quickly into a note whereas others introduce it and get wider as the note progresses.
    In fact I was only talking about vibrato in the 'tone' thread this afternoon.

Check out the video in this thread to see what I mean. Ok I know it's classical, but music is music and vibrato is vibrato.. It'll simply give you an insight into it and how it can be applied.

http://www.mylespaul.com/forums/guitar-lessons/100927-tone-3.html#post2039087

Getting back to the Koss vib, yes it's simply very wide and fast and introduced right at the begining of a note rather than introduced on a clean note, then applied.
    Anyway listen to the vid and you'll see what I mean. That way you can develop your own style.