Strange Les Paul Aria pro II need new electronics ... which one

Discussion in 'Other Single-Cuts' started by Daniel L, Jan 19, 2019.

1. Daniel L

Daniel L Junior Member

Hi everyone,
    I have a beautiful Aria Pro II Les Paul Guitar (LS-500 or 600 ?) with old 2003 Burstbucker pro Pickups (not sure which one ?) but the original Electronics seems to be very basic (see images)
    The original pickups was Japanese humbucker (black humbucker neck) and a Dimarzio humbucker (bridge but not original ).

Is it a good idea to change the Electronics (even if the Guitar sounds good (but i am not an expert)

What will be a good choice & not too expensive to give to this guitar Rock a new & descent Guitar Electronic ?
    I am not rich but i want a descent quality that will fit in the Aria !
    Is a pre-wired kit is preferable or not ? ... i am in search of something easy to install !
    Other things, i still do not know which model is this, because of four anomaly ( see images) :
    1) The logo Les Paul on the Headstock is not usual. Leopard logo is usually the norm !?
    2) the neck have been reinforced
    3) at the twelfth fret, the inlay has a different color
    4) 2-piece pancaked mahogany body
    Ok guy, thank you all !
    Daniel

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jan 19, 2019
  2. jvin248

jvin248 Member

Those look like the inch size Alpha pots. Ok and if you like the tone leave them be. Buy parts not pre wired. Pots and caps values measured are as importand to tone as the pickups. If you swap and want the same tone then measure them up.

If you want to swap remove the old harness as complete as possible and set aside.

Bourns pots, Switchcraft 3way switch, Switchcraft jack, caps in say a 50volt+ package size. You'll spend maybe $30 with careful shopping. These will be better parts than most prewired harnesses. Learn to solder on Youtube.

BKS likes this.
  3. Bobby Mahogany

Bobby Mahogany Senior Member

Wow!
    That's a really nice one!