Strange Issue With Les Paul

Discussion in 'Epiphone Les Pauls' started by BenjaminW, Nov 22, 2017.

1. BenjaminW

BenjaminW Senior Member

Today after I fixed my volume knob on my 2014 Slash AFD II, I plugged it in and attempted to play it. For some reason even though all my volume knobs were up on both my guitar, effects, and amp, it wouldn't make any sound. What I did was switched pickups to see if I could get any sound out through them by putting my watch next to both pickups to see if I could hear the ticking noise from it which I usually can, but I didn't. My biggest concern is that the pickups somehow died. To see if anything was loose or torn apart in the back, I looked there and everything looked fine. Have any of you ever run into something like this before?

2. Mockbel

Mockbel Senior Member

I have zero knowledge about wiring or fixing guitars but obviously it is a wiring issue. You messed up with wiring and now the guitar is dead.. no other option !

I would re-solder whatever I messed with and see. I "think" it is a simple issue at the end !

BenjaminW likes this.
  3. moreles

moreles Senior Member

You can't kill pickups, so don't worry about that. There are many little things you might have done that would break your circuit. Sometimes people wreck a pot when jamming the knob onto the post. The innards can collapse. Or, in working on the pot, even externally, it's not hard to shake a wire loose. Les Paul wiring is really simple, so you can find a diagram or pic of your guitar's wiring online and eyeball your own situation to see if you can spot the fault. Many of us do this all the time. If you can't find anything, a decent repair person should be able to do so, no sweat. It should be a minimally costly fix. Sorry for the hassle. Wiring issues are annoying!

BenjaminW likes this.
  4. pbekkerh

pbekkerh Senior Member