Started a '59 LP project

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Shadowfax29, Jan 3, 2018.

1. Shadowfax29

Shadowfax29 Junior Member

Ok, so I'm no builder, total beginner here but as many others, I can't justify/afford the price of the 59 that I would truly want. I found this unfinished LP build, seller says it was built to the Bartlette plans, honduran mahogany body, braz board, hide glue etc, and now I've undertaken to try and do the finishing job to my liking. If all goes well I'll end up with a dirty lemon burst.

Here's a few pics of how I received the husk:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

The seller wasn't sure if the mahogany had been grain filled or not so I ordered some from reranch and went to work tonight

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I have to do some final leveling once the grain filler has fully set, then I need to hit a local lumber supplier to get some test mahogany and maple for when I do my colors. I have analine dyes that I plan on doing this with. More to come!

2. Mr.Fingers

Mr.Fingers Member

If you've come that far, why not complete it yourself? Ah well: his loss is your gain!

3. Shadowfax29

My thoughts exactly! The seller I purchased from said he didn't build it and that it was "built by a Luthier in Maine by the name or Pierre to the Bartlette plans" So I guess he just never moved on it afterwards. It's pretty much exactly what I've been looking for to try and create the burst that's been in my head but can't really acquire without dropping some serious cash so I'm hoping it'll be a fun and rewarding learning experience!

4. WhiteEpiLP

WhiteEpiLP Senior Member

Have you assembled the guitar and strung it up to make sure there are no issues that prompted the sale? It looks good in these pics but before you waste the time and money finishing it I'd try to play it.

Greco, w666, WezV and 2 others like this.
  5. WezV

WezV Senior Member

definitely do this.