Squier wood quality

Discussion in 'Fender' started by 5F6-A, Nov 5, 2017.

1. 5F6-A

5F6-A Senior Member

Some of you might know that I was given a guitar that was in need of a lot of attention. It was at 2007 Fender Squire. Made in China. Affinity series so I'm guessing it was one of the cheaper models.

It was abused and neglected but I got it back to working properly and now it is a wonderful guitar for slide in open G. However the action is very low and I can play it comfortably without slide for those Keith Richards moments.

[​IMG]

I always wondered about the quality of the words used by Fender in these, their cheapest guitars.
    Well, some of the abused that these poor guitar received was having some of the finish at the back removed. The good news is that I can see that it is proper wood and not some sort of plywood concoction. However, I am no expert in telling the quality of the wood so I am sharing these pictures with you. To me, it looks totally decent. It looks like alder to me. No nasty knots or suspicious residue. Much better than the wood used by IKEA to manufacture the desk I'm writing these lines on.

What do you think? Apologies for the lack of quality of this last photograph. My phone cannot cope with anything but beautiful, full daylight.

[​IMG]

2. ARandall

ARandall Senior Member

If you can tell the 'quality' of wood (in terms of a definitive tonal outcome) just by looking at it, then you have a skill that nobody on the planet has or will ever have.
    Any other metric of quality is subjective.

Thumpalumpacus likes this.
  3. 5F6-A

5F6-A Senior Member

I see... is there a relationship between consistency in the wood and tone?

4. Benjammin

Benjammin Senior Member

Looks like decent grain for a multi-piece body, though you're in a better position than us to judge how the tone is. I would speculate that there is a connection, but I'm sure someone would come along and argue that down