Seeking Opinions on This 1951/1952 Les Paul Oddity

Discussion in 'Vintage Les Pauls' started by BodhiSM, Mar 9, 2018.

1. BodhiSM

BodhiSM Junior Member

Hi,

This is my first time on this forum. I am seeking opinions on this strange guitar. This is a 1952 Les Paul that may actually be a very early prototype made in 1951. It is early enough that it was made before they started putting serial numbers on. This guitar has been in the closet for about 15 years. Took it out and have been contemplating what to do with it- keep and refurbish or sell.

As you can hopefully see from the pics, the guitar has had significant work done to it- mostly, i would assume to deal with that weird '52 tailpiece that everyone hated. The fretboard has been shortened to compensate for the replacement tailpiece. an abr was added. according to my guitar tech, the neck appears to have been shaved down/slimmed. So, yes....a frankenstein job. But, the guitar sounds transcendent to me. All the electronics are original and working fine. It is one of the nicest sounding guitars I have ever played. And even with the weird fretboard and the thin neck, it plays like butter (at least with .9s). Gold 4.png Gold 1.png Gold 3.png

Its an odd guitar, to be sure. But it has its charms. So, its been in the closet for many years and i have been really loving playing and recording with it for the last few months. But I'm not sure if I want to keep it or sell. This is why I have posted here. I have absolutely zero idea how much a fair price for this guitar is. On the one hand its a million miles from museum quality, but on the other hand it is most likely one of the very first LPs ever made and plays nice and sounds out of this world. So, if anyone has any ballpark idea of what a fair price for this guitar would be I would be very happy to hear your opinions/ideas. Please forgive the dust on the guitar in the pics. Thank you.

Attached Files:

2. Left Paw

Left Paw Senior Member