Recording to Computer... Help!

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by VictorB, Aug 12, 2015.

1. VictorB

VictorB Formerly LZF Super Mod

Ok for a complete noob to all this, I need the opinions of the experts to get me started.

My goal: to be able to record full songs; drums (real or virtual), guitar, bass, keys, vocals, etc.. Mixed, mastered, the whole 9 yards.

The question is (besides the computer) what exactly do I need to get started?

Software, interfaces, plug ins, whatever.

Thanks in advance!

El Kabong likes this.
  2. Mindfrigg

Mindfrigg Senior Member

PC or tablet? I've gotten so I much prefer the Ipad. And are you building them up by layering or recording live ensembles primarily?

1 person likes this.
  3. VictorB

PC, and I'd like to record one track at a time, maybe two if the bass can run direct.

4. Tweaker

Tweaker Senior Member

You're definitely going to need some kind of interface. You have a few options, depending on how you want to do it. If you want to record everyone at the same time, you're going to need a pretty big interface (at least 10 inputs I'd imagine, if you mic a drumset...maybe 5 if you wanna go bare bones and you're using an electric kit, and I don't know if 5-input interfaces are all that common). If you plan to record one or two people at a time, you can get away with a 2-input interface, or even 1-input.

You'll need some kind of software, also called a DAW (digital audio workstation)...I use a version of Cubase that came with my interface, but I hear Reaper works well and is free for non-commercial use I believe. As far as what plugins you'll need, I have no idea...Freddy can help you with that I'm sure. He's a genius!