Recording Software

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Deftone, Oct 10, 2008.

1. Deftone

Deftone Senior Member

I'm looking for some good, user friendly guitar recording software. I'd like to record some of my own guitar riffs, and mix in drums and bass. I have zero experience with any software of this type so I need something that's really user friendly. Amp modeling and effects would be a plus.

Any reccomendations would greatly appreciated. Let me know what you have used/use and what you thought of it!

Thanks! :thumb:

2. needlespauls

needlespauls V.I.P. Member

I'm going to be trying the Native Instruments Guitar Rig Sessions pack. Unbelievable specs, and super quality. only $199.
    The Line 6 Toneport KB37 is pretty sweet too. I'm not sure if it comes with a drum package, but it does have the keyboard built into the interface for sampling/keys and controlling at a pretty good price.

3. rodneyk915

rodneyk915 Senior Member

I use Cubase which came with the Lexicon Omega interface. It seems pretty easy to me but has a lot of advanced features that you can delve into as you feel more comfortable. I use a midi connection or line out from my keyboards for drum tracks and play my own bass tracks. I will often record clean and use Amplitube 2 for my amp modeling which also has a pretty good pedal board to choose your effects from.

4. Deftone

Deftone Senior Member

Cool, thanks for the tips. I have a Digitech GNX3, way complicated but i think I can record directly from that as well.

How about the Cakewalk Guitar Rig?

5. Kipp73

Kipp73 Senior Member

'reason' with drums is also good.

6. Wuchak

Wuchak Senior Member

Hydrogen is an incredible open source drum machine program. It comes with a bunch of kits and you can download more. I used the windows installer to run it on XP and it works great.
    Hydrogen - advanced drum machine for GNU/Linux