recommend an audio interface

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by paradice, Dec 29, 2016.

1. paradice

paradice Senior Member

looking for a USB powered interface with coax s pdif in

found this for not a lot of money

http://www.gear4music.com/Recording..._rFu-ZHuM6-L-t8-B0YGPHnDS1MTPaQBPUaAidx8P8HAQ

the focusrite ones seem to come up in a lot of 'best interface' searches

http://www.juno.co.uk/products/focusrite-scarlett-2i2-usb-audio-interface/435776-01/

will the sound quality be much different between the 2 I've listed?

how much would you need to spend before a notable difference?

2. Freddy G

Freddy G V.I.P. Member

I have no experience with the ESI.

I have experience with the Focusrite.

The Focusrite is fine. It doesn't sound bad, but not that great either.

If I really had to gamble a choice between the two I'd go for the ESI.

It has less features. On the Focusrite you're paying for more expensive hardware such as combo XLR/TRS connectors, knobs, switches and mic pres. Also all the things that go with that such as more complicated assembly, panel cutting etc. It doesn't sound like much but these things all add up especially in units as reasonably priced as these.

No.... just put the money into the converter circuit. I'd rather have it sound better than have more bells and whistles. That is unless you need mic pres, then the focusrite is the winner...

Don't take what I say as a defining truth between the two....this is just a good guess on my part.

3. DarrellV

DarrellV Almost 1 Year old this month! Premium Member

Hey Freddy!

Does your opinion of Focusrite interfaces extend up the food chain, or just apply to the lower price stuff?

Just wondering because I built my cellar studio around the Saffire Pro 40.

I used to be a Presonus guy, but when they went USB and cheesy looking, I left the flock.
    I have been very happy with this so far and it's been very versatile.