R8 vs. '68 Triburst Custom

Discussion in 'Historics & Reissues' started by uncajoey, May 27, 2007.

1. uncajoey

uncajoey Senior Member

Hey, guys-

I'm new to this, so please be gentle with my stupid questions. A little history first.

I own an 2004 R7 Goldtop, which I purchased after getting rid of a production LP Standard, which while having great flame, absolutely sucked as a musical instrument. It didn't stay in tune, the frets felt like railroad ties, the rosewood fretboard was made of lousy grade material, the inlays were placed sloppily, blah, blah, blah. The Historic guitar is amazing, which means it plays like a dream. What I do miss is the flame, so I'm considering either a mid-nineties to '02 R8, or possibly a newer '68 custom triburst with flame.

First question: are CS instruments always this much better than production product?

Also, would someone please compare and contrast the two axes? My preference is for smaller "vintage" style frets, so that rules out R9 and R0, I believe, and the R8is ostensibly just an R7 with a different top, right? Will an R8 feel much like an R7? Will the 68 have larger frets, or are they truly "fretless wonders?'"

Somebody help!!!!!!!!

:wtf:

2. murkat

murkat V.I.P. Member V.I.P. Member

68 has same fret wire as others, no fretlessswonder. there heavy compared to R7, R8. Nail the flamed R8, there value is starting to climb, get while yu can afford :)

3. Redfish

Redfish Senior Member