PRS Consistency

Discussion in 'Other Guitars' started by Tomsmenace, Nov 19, 2017.

1. Tomsmenace

Tomsmenace Senior Member

I'm considering a PRS from their core series. Forgive my naivety on this since I'm not a brand fanboy, at least not of guitar brands.

I have had SO MANY Gibson guitars over the years and the majority were let downs or just OK. I only have 2 now, a 78 The Paul (my first real guitar) and a Les Paul Menace I got in a trade. Of all my Gibsons those are easily the standouts (also, the more expensive models were the biggest let downs). Yes, I realize taste is subjective in that regard. Cosmetics aren't a huge deal to me, especially highly figured tops. I would like a guitar that feels as good as my best basses have felt and in general, that doesn't happen often, if at all. I have a lot of experience with high basses and brands like Warwick, Ken Smith, NS Design, Elrick and Alembic and I can assume a quality level up front and rarely if ever be surprised. Even Music Man basses are remarkably consistent though they aren't too my taste as much.

I'm wondering if PRS guitars are consistent relative to high end bass brands? Minimal drift across a model in terms of sound, playability and overall feel even across multiple years of production. I've only played 4 PRS core series but they all felt precise in a similar way. They were a custom 22, (2) custom 24's and a CE 24 from the early/mid 90's? (just guessing). I remember liking the CE 24 quite a bit but it also resided in my house for 2 weeks while a friend was out of town so I got a fair amount of play time on it.