POD X3 Live

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by River, Sep 30, 2008.

1. River

River Senior Member

Just arrived. I haven't really figured out how to use but the most basic of features yet, but I am greatly pleased and impressed. I'm playing it through an Alesis Sumo 300 P/A amp. So far I'm just switching back and forth between the "canned" Plexi Lead and Clean Chorus settings. Any and all hints/tips/tricks would be greatly appreciated.

2. mobprop667

mobprop667 V.I.P. Member

sell it and buy a marshall.

just kidding. they are pretty cool. i had a pod xt live floorboard and i couldnt figure it out to save my life. got rid of it. it did have some cool features, but i am an idiot.

3. River

River Senior Member

Yeah, yeah, I know... I almost prefaced the post with "Purists, please ignore". I don't mind though.

I already have a Marshall, and a one-off 18W tube built on commission. But there are times... and I've heard what these puppies can do. I'm a geek by trade, but even so yes, they can be a bit intimidating when trying to operate without the PC interface.

I'm just looking for advice on how to get the most out of it. This is the floorboard version too, just X3 rather than XT (more models, I think, and a few more controls on the board than the XT).

Hey, tell me which Marshall I should emulate, with specific dial settings, and I'll make that my first self-tutorial! :thumb:

4. mobprop667

mobprop667 V.I.P. Member

i actually use a pod 2.0 for practicng. they are pretty good for getting a lot of models.

5. stinger

stinger Senior Member

I have one. It allows some great tones and I can use it with headphones and if I mix it correctly, I can jam with CD's and sound like I'm playing in the band. The neighbors never know the difference.

Use Gearbox to edit the Pod x3 with the pc.

6. moff40

moff40 Senior Member