Pauper's Funeral.

Discussion in 'The Backstage' started by brokentoeswalker, Apr 21, 2013.

1. brokentoeswalker

brokentoeswalker Senior Member

As a guitarist, I play many gigs. Recently I was asked by a funeral director to play at a graveside service for a homeless man. He had no family or friends, so the service was to be at a pauper’s cemetery in the back country. As I was not familiar with the backwoods, I got lost.

I finally arrived an hour late and saw the funeral guy had evidently gone and the hearse was nowhere in sight. There were only the diggers and crew left and they were eating lunch.

I felt badly and apologized to the men for being late. I went to the side of the grave and looked down and the vault lid was already in place. I didn’t know what else to do, so I started to play.

The workers put down their lunches and began to gather around. I played out my heart and soul for this man with no family and friends. I played like I’ve never played before for this homeless man.

And as I played ‘Amazing Grace,’ the workers began to weep. They wept, I wept, we all wept together. When I finished I packed up my guitar and started for my car. Though my head hung low, my heart was full.

As I opened the door to my car, I heard one of the workers say, “I never seen nothin’ like that before and I’ve been putting in septic tanks for twenty years.”

Apparently, I’m still lost…

LPG, Clump, acstorfer and 48 others like this.
  2. JeffBlue

JeffBlue Banned

Your heart is in the right place brother. God Bless you and the good we do in life is most certainly noticed by The Almighty. Good on you my friend. You must have sounded awesome.

1 person likes this.
  3. PNB92

PNB92 Senior Member

so wait...

this is just a joke right? the guys were laying septic tanks and it gets mistaken as a homeless guys grave?

8 people like this.
  4. tex_lt

tex_lt Banned