P90 to Humbucker Conversion (With No Routing)

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by RebelWithoutACausey, Sep 9, 2017.

1. RebelWithoutACausey

RebelWithoutACausey Junior Member

Greetings! Newbie here but been a lurker for some time.

I have a Deluxe and I am dead-set on putting a Duncan JB in the bridge, however if I can pull this off without routing, that would be much preferred.

Throughout my searching, I have heard that you can get a humbucker in the P90 route but shaving down the baseplate a few millimeters, but I have also heard that you can actually put a humbucker on a P90 baseplate with a little modification, but i'm not tech-savvy enough to know what that process looks like...can someone enlighten me?

Thanks in advance!

2. Al Walker

Al Walker Senior Member

3. RebelWithoutACausey

RebelWithoutACausey Junior Member

Alright, yeah, fair enough....just ordered a JB and a Jazz soapbar!

I guess that addresses my problem for now, but while the thread is here, if anyone could address the OP it could help someone else out (and by that I mean me, when I inevitably want something different later on :thumb:).

4. Bobby Mahogany

Bobby Mahogany Senior Member

You never know when P90's might be in your future so...
    Never route!
    :D

5. Al Walker

Al Walker Senior Member

I prefer P90s. But, you asked.

6. chasenblues

chasenblues Senior Member

Scroll down to post# 27(Captain tightpants)

http://www.mylespaul.com/threads/can-a-humbucker-fit-in-a-p90-cavity.41946/page-2

Copying/pasting this from the thread so you don't miss it..

"edit...I do have to stress again, this WILL NOT work with a covered pickup, there is no room, there is just enough room for what I have shown here. If you want covers, you will indeed have to route."

Last edited: Sep 10, 2017
  7. Leña_Costoso

Leña_Costoso Senior Member