Opinions re Reverend Guitars?

Discussion in 'Other Guitars' started by DBCooper, Feb 14, 2008.

1. DBCooper

DBCooper Senior Member

I was looking to buy a cheap MIM Tele or something else in the below $500 market. Someone told me to try a Reverend guitar because one of their models got a nice write up in Guitar Player in a shootout of budget guitars. If nothing else, they are very cool looking.

The Harmony Central site is stocked with glowing reviews. But I bet they're from the company. Each review provides way too much info and says stuff like, "I've been playing for 30 years and think my Reverend sounds just as good as my vintage Lester and my American Strat." Yeah, right. But for the price, I'm tempted to go try one. Is it a waste of time? Has anyone tried one? Thanks.

2. LongBeach

LongBeach Premium Member

I haven't played one, but if you got 5 bills to spend, you can still get a nice axe. MIM Strat, MIM Tele (both nice, and you can always upgrade the electronics at a later date) I know several musicians that play the MIM
    Fender's, and they got the $ to buy the American made. Besides, the wood
    is from the states, they just send it to Mexico for assembly.
    But for the less expensive models, I would stick with MIM Fender's, they take a licking and keep on ticking. my opinion only! (opposed to Epi)

3. Blues Power

Blues Power V.I.P. Member

nothing wrong with them. They were USA made up until last year now i think theryre comming from Korea if you can find a USA model grab it.

abouslutly nothing wrong with reverends

4. ReverendJWblues

ReverendJWblues MLP Chaplain V.I.P. Member

Reverend Guitars? What a cool frickin name. :)

5. Roman

Roman Master Luthier V.I.P. V.I.P. Member

I was wondering when you would chime in on this one :)

6. shotgunlew

shotgunlew V.I.P. Member

I have played a reverend ( it had p90's no clue on the name ) IT was a pretty nice guitar ( very nice for the money )

7. ReverendJWblues