Old Gretsch repair project

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Lou G., Nov 10, 2017.

1. Lou G.

Lou G. Junior Member

Hi everyone, I picked up this Gretsch New Yorker for 50.00. Based on the serial number it was built between 1945 and 1947. It has certainly seen better days.
    I thought this would be a good opportunity to work on a vintage guitar without the stakes being too high. I have some experience building, but I have never attempted a repair like this. Any advice would be welcomed and much appreciated!

image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

C_Becker, Who and Matt_21 like this.
  2. w666

w666 Senior Member

Nice!

3. jkes01

jkes01 Senior Member

Nice score, looks like a fun project. I’d give ya $50 for it :)

First thing I would do is fix the headstock then yank that nasty deteriorating pickguard off it and make a new one from the StewMac tort. Might order some binding while your at it if that stuff is a crumbly as it looks.

Keep us posted.

4. Lou G.

Lou G. Junior Member

Thanks jkes01. Yea the headstock is in sad shape. It’s got a piece missing, several cracks, and it’s cupped. I’m guessing it will probably need a neck reset as well. Most of the binding is still there but it has shrunk, and much of it has come loose. Also there is a long crack emanating in both directions from where the end pin once was. I have never attempted any of these repairs before so it should be interesting. I hope to get started next week. I’ll keep you posted.

5. w666

w666 Senior Member