Old gear

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by efstop, Apr 14, 2017.

  1. efstop

    efstop Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    1,237
    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Lots of people use old guitars and amps, but is anyone using old mixers, etc.? This is my mid '70s gear I've never let go, although it isn't especially valuable. The mixer can handle any input except XLR without a line transformer, and it has outputs for speakers, amplified speakers, and line. I plugged my Tele into it through a Pulsar stereo Tremolo. Kinda cool hearing it pan back and forth. If you need six channels of clean and dry amplification, this mixer does that in stereo, 15W RMS per side. The guitar in the photo was my dad's '74 F20. The mics are PE-515 and PE-5EQ.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. DarrellV

    DarrellV Murry Chrirstmers to earl! Silver Supporter Premium Member

    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    9,899
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Can my old XT-20 ADAT digital tape deck play?

    Sorry for the crappy phone cam pic!
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 23, 2017
  3. efstop

    efstop Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    1,237
    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Yep! Any old hardware! Does it still play? :D
     
  4. DarrellV

    DarrellV Murry Chrirstmers to earl! Silver Supporter Premium Member

    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    9,899
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Yup, still plays and records.
    [​IMG]

    I used it for mix-downs with my DAW and live capture through my old Yamaha mixer.
    [​IMG]

    I have another one, the Lx-20 model to use as a slave unit. Not as fancy as the XT, but the guts are the same.
    [​IMG]

    Each unit will record up to 8 tracks of digital audio, and they can be hooked together and synced to work as a single unit.

    I can get up to 16 tracks with my 2 units, or I can duplicate exact copies between them, etc. With the Big Remote control these units will even sync to broadcast SMTE code and can be used for television audio, synced frame to frame.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    They have an optical in/out system that uses LED's to carry all 8 channels on a single light-pipe.

    It was pretty cool stuff for the 80's. They were a stepchild of the VCR and use the same technology inside, but they record only audio on the tape, no video.

    Now, that I think of it I've got Big remote and a little remote control too!

    Oh, shoot! I have a lot more old gear! I'll be back with pics in a few!

    Thanks for reminding me!

    EDIT: I'm back with pics! :D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 23, 2017
  5. efstop

    efstop Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    1,237
    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    That's some pretty wild, and cool! hardware. Too fussy for me, but a decent VCR-type digital recorder would be fun to play with.
     
  6. DarrellV

    DarrellV Murry Chrirstmers to earl! Silver Supporter Premium Member

    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    9,899
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    It really isn't that bad once you learn the lingo and the logic.

    Hit 'Record' and 'play' and it records.
    [​IMG]
    The 8 buttons under the screen are to arm each channel and it only records over the ones you arm. the rest play so you can hear back what you've done so far.

    The buttons under the tape door let you set several 'locate points' on the tape.

    If you use them at the beginning of each song you can use them at any time to quickly zoom to that point on the tape where the songs begin. No searching needed.

    You get about 40 minutes on a tape. It records in 44.1 or 48k formats.

    Each unit is a stand alone recorder player too. You don't even need the BRC to use them.

    The back has 8 analog in/out as well for non digital equipment. It has its own built in converters if need be.

    I used to run it through the mic inserts which are a 1/4" stereo jack (one common, one out, one in) and a 'Y' cable that split the in and out plugs.

    Mic send into ADAT and mic return from out of ADAT.

    Levels to the ADAT are set on the board using the gain.

    These have no level controls built in. They are set to max out at a standard board's 0 db level.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 23, 2017
  7. efstop

    efstop Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    1,237
    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Doesn't sound hard to do at all. I'm going to start out by plugging the mixer into my sound card and see what Audacity can do. I should be recording my noodling.
     
  8. DarrellV

    DarrellV Murry Chrirstmers to earl! Silver Supporter Premium Member

    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    9,899
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    That's what its for! :cheers2:
     
  9. Freddy G

    Freddy G V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    9,725
    Likes Received:
    18,546
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    funky old mic!

    [​IMG]

    funky old guitar tuner!

    [​IMG]
     
    Nicky likes this.
  10. DarrellV

    DarrellV Murry Chrirstmers to earl! Silver Supporter Premium Member

    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    9,899
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Does the Freddy built compressor count?
     
  11. Freddy G

    Freddy G V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    9,725
    Likes Received:
    18,546
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    No...I'm not that old!
     
  12. DarrellV

    DarrellV Murry Chrirstmers to earl! Silver Supporter Premium Member

    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    9,899
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    :lol::lol::lol::lol:

    I meant because it was BUILT old fashion like...:laugh2:
     

Share This Page