NPD - Joyo Ultimate Drive

Discussion in 'Pedals' started by cynic79, Sep 8, 2011.

1. cynic79

cynic79 Senior Member

I was inspired by the Freekish Blues threads.:thumb:

For those not in the know, this is supposed to be a clone of the Fulltone OCD, and, allegedly, almost the same guts as the Freekish Blues Alpha Drive. I've been interested in the OCD for quite some time, and this seemed like a relatively inexpensive way to try that circuit out with my rig.

Initial impressions are favorable. I'm still learning the tonal ins and outs of my recently acquired Ampeg J-20 (which is supposedly based on a brownface Fender Deluxe), but this pedal seems to work well with it. There's a lot of thick, natural sounding distortion on tap. The pedal is a bit dark (or rather, warm). The tone knob can provide some bite, but it's not voiced to give chimey highs. The HP mode gives a nice upper mid bump, and definitely gives the pedal a more Marshall-like tone. It cleans up admirably when you turn the volume down on the guitar, but not nearly as well as my Fuzz Face or Way Huge Fat Sandwich. That said, it responds very well to changes in picking dynamics. That said, it was easy to go from a dirty tone to a clean sound at lower gain, higher volume settings. It's definitely not a boost pedal; at low gain settings it doesn't provide much boost. Adding a bit of gain adds much more output though.

So far I'm really digging the pedal. It's very easy to get gobs of rich distortion out of it, and while it's not as present or responsive as a cranked tube amp, it's a decent alternative. If this really is based on the OCD, then I can see what the fuss is about.

2. beanoburst66

beanoburst66 Senior Member

mine should be here anyday! im glad it turned it good for you. now im even more anxious!

3. Hector Arcadius

Hector Arcadius Senior Member

I knew that sooner or later someone would take the plunge. I'm glad you like it and thanks for the review man!

4. gibsonguitar1988