Notation Software Help Please

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by kmrumedy, Dec 29, 2017.

1. kmrumedy

kmrumedy Senior Member

Hi -

I was looking for a notation software package so I could create both musical and tab notation for students.

So far I am leaning towards Guitar Pro 7 (These are bass lessons).

I have never worked with these kinds of programs before so here is my newbie question -

Are there any notation packages out there that have audio recognition without midi interface?

Meaning I record my amp via a mic - Then send the audio file into a piece of software that recognizes the notes?

Or is it still a complete hands on painful process?

Also - I am assuming if I write something in music notation it can automatically be transposed to TAB and vice versa? Is that right?

Thanks in advance. John

2. spitfire

spitfire Senior Member

Concerning scoring by hand, I really like Tabledit. I find it much easier to use then Guitar Pro. And yes you can work in tab or staff notation. Lot's of other options for creating nice looking music. My guitar teacher turned me on to it. So as a teacher, he likes it.

https://www.tabledit.com/

Concerning listening and automatically transcribing what you play, I don't think there is anything that can do that.

But check out Melodyne, I believe it has some capabilities along these lines. I just pulled this link up based on what I remembered reading about it.

http://www.celemony.com/en/melodyne/what-is-melodyne

If transcribing what you play is really important, consider getting a Roland GR-55 guitar synth. It will convert what you play to MIDI, which can of course be notated. You can either get a guitar with a Roland hex pickup built it, or add one to a guitar you already have. I think there are options for all types of guitars, electric, steel string acoustic, classical.