Nice LP custom with no identifying info?

Discussion in 'Other Single-Cuts' started by Les Paul Newb, Jul 26, 2017.

1. Les Paul Newb

Les Paul Newb Senior Member

IMG_8806.JPG IMG_8805.JPG IMG_8803.JPG IMG_8804.JPG

Looks like a nice guitar. Just can't tell what it is. Set neck, there appears to be only 1 screw on the truss rod cover. The fingerboard has rounded corners by the neck pup, which I've seen on a Matsumoto Aria custom (bolt-on neck). Any guesses?

2. MichaelAndrew3435

MichaelAndrew3435 Premium Member

I'm no expert, but the Custom logo looks a bit off. Also, the fretboard isn't ebony from the looks of it. Most Customs I know of come with an ebony or richlite board expect for the Custom Lite. It's definitely not a Lite. Maybe they put rosewood boards on the really old models? Regardless, I've never seen an LP Custom with the info removed. I'd be very wary.

3. tosh78

tosh78 Senior Member

I agree. Definitely not ebony.
    And yes, the logo seems to be a bit strange. The only company I know that do only one screw for the TRC is Edwards but I've never seen a custom like this made by them

4. J-Dizzle

J-Dizzle Senior Member

looks a bit like a pre-1975 made at the Matsumoko factory.

Who likes this.
  5. ajory72

ajory72 Senior Member

/\ yes but how does it play???

FWIW they used to sell Japanese LP copies here in australia in the 70's with "Axiom" on the headstock, when I sold mine [goldtop] I had worn through the neck so much you could see the maple board underneath [I was 15 so didnt know any better - but I had assumed it was that brown wood I saw when I bought it - just like on Jimmy Pages guitar... lol]

Who likes this.
  6. jtbasketman

jtbasketman Junior Member