newbie question - Les Paul neck fit adjustments-

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Fabio75, Sep 30, 2017.

1. Fabio75

Fabio75 Junior Member

Hi all,
    I'm Fabio and i am from Italy. As a complete newbie I've start my first project with a quite cheap LP kit. After spending hours reading tons of stuff on the net, finally I've found this valuable forum.
    Now, after a lot of sanding and cleaning the mahogany body, I'm almost ready for gum in the neck.
    The fit is pretty tight and it is very straight to the body.....but the question is: should I do something to eliminate that little gap in between the fretboard and the body itself or I can left it like that?it is something like 1mm, maybe less. See the pictures.

Thanks to everyone would help me in this!.
    IMG_5114.JPG IMG_5115.JPG IMG_5119.JPG
    Ciao,
    F.

2. Freddy G

Freddy G V.I.P. Member

Take a look at this video of my LP build.

The perfection of the neck/body joint is something that cannot be understated.
    So yes, take your time, make it fit perfectly. Take care that you don't distort or round over mating edges. I can see it happening already in your first picture.

failsafe306 likes this.
  3. Fabio75

Fabio75 Junior Member

Hi Freddy,
    thank you for your reply, I've enjoy your video..great work!
    Yes, I've already make a mistake with that edge ! I should fix with some wood filler (I know ...too bad!).
    So..okay, i'll make it fit. Is is better to work on the neck instead of the pocket then?

Thank you again.
    F.

4. WhiteEpiLP

WhiteEpiLP Senior Member