Newbie here: Which Epiphone LP to buy?

Discussion in 'Epiphone Les Pauls' started by gaust024, Feb 27, 2018.

1. gaust024

gaust024 Junior Member

Hey everyone,

I'm a beginner/intermediate guitarist and I've been looking to buy an Epiphone Les Paul for quite a while now. However, I've been wondering which model would be the best fit for me. I'm actually looking at the Epiphone Les Paul Tributes and thinking that they would be a great fit, I love how they actually use Gibson pickups in the guitar. I've also been browsing eBay and Craigslist for deals but I've noticed that a lot of the Tributes there are labeled "Tribute Plus" and most of the model years from the serial numbers indicate that they were made in 2003. Do these guitars hold up well over time? Would it be better to buy a brand new Tribute from Guitar Center or am I taking a risk from buying a used Tribute/Tribute Plus?

I'm located in MN and I've found a couple guitars on Craigslist, one person is selling his 2003 Epiphone Les Paul Tribute for around $600. My dilemma is that I could save money by buying used, but I think I would prefer a brand new guitar (currently selling for $750 at GC). If anyone has any advice on this subject and model of Epiphones please let me know!!

2. paruwi

paruwi Kraut-Rocker Super Mod Premium Member

Hi,

welcome here @ MyLesPaul

Tribute Plus is the newer generation with nice veneers covering the real maple cap

none of those Tribute or Tribute Plus models had been made in 2003
    they were introduced later, end of 2009

That's the result of the dumb guitar-un-dater I guess

and yes, they are great bang for the buck...

EpiWeb_Tribute800x620.jpg

Homebrw, JohnnyN, sasquatch and 3 others like this.
  3. fumblefinger

fumblefinger Senior Member

^^ What he said!^^

4. WaywerdSon

WaywerdSon Senior Member