[NEW] Vintage V100 or [USED] Yamaha SL-550s

Discussion in 'Other Single-Cuts' started by MikeV, Jan 22, 2010.

1. MikeV

MikeV Junior Member

After about a month of lurking, i finally decided to make an account here =D

I've been itching to get my first budget LP for ah wile now (i'm a novice at guitars in general btw), and after weeks upon weeks of rummaging through the depths of the internet, I've decided on two guitars.

At first I'd had been reading reviews about the Vintage V100 around the internet, and how (apparently) amazing it is for a budget price.

The ''musicroom.com'' are selling them for 219 Pounds:

Vintage: V100 Series Electric Guitar (Cherry Sunburst) at Musicroom.com - Instruments & Accessories

Pic:

[​IMG]

And then, i started reading on about how INSANELY GOOD Japan made guitars were, and i started lusting after Tokai's only to find that they were a tad too expensive for me at the moment ='( Although I'm definitely planning to get one sooner or later. So instead, i started looking for the cheapest MIJ guitar i could find haha.

After much soul searching through the like of sites such as Ebay, i've managed to find a MIJ ''Yamaha Studio Lord SL-550s'' from the 80's for 350 Pounds.

Seeing as the seller disabled right click so i can't get a picture, i'll link

linkz0r: YAMAHA SL-550s 'Studio Lord' Tobacco SB Guitar MIJ 80s - eBay (item 220543661403 end time Jan-30-10 05:35:45 PST)

What is everyone's thoughts on this? The Yamaha is a obviously a great guitar, but that's more expensive, and its used. Whereas the Vintage V100 is cheaper, is brand new, and is also supposed to be a incredible guitar. Sorry if i don't know much, i'm kind of new at this =(

(P.S I live in Australia, the reason why i'm importing them is because guitars over here are INSANELY overpriced.)

Really nice site going on here, I hope you all welcome me and i'll try to stick around.

Cheers =D