New and clueless needing some guidance.

Discussion in 'Gibson Les Pauls' started by Johnny Wins, Sep 18, 2012.

1. Johnny Wins

Johnny Wins Junior Member

Hello all

My 11 year old son has been playing guitar for a couple of years, i happen to think he's pretty good and has been dreaming of owning a Les Paul.

Well, while in a music store a guy came in with a bubble wrapped package, handed it to the store owner in exchange for £50 and at the mention of 'Les Paul' i took £60 from my wallet and took it out of the shop. Transpires it was a 98 studio with a broken headstock and in very poor general condition. It had got damp at some stage in my opinion. Shame on the owner frankly.

I'm a toolmaker by trade so after viewing much on this forum about repair i was confident of doing a sound repair and having just taken stock of some mahogany am about to machine in the splints and re-form the neck. The initial gluing was tough as i had alignment issues under clamping so decided to superglue the joint (don't panic), build a jig around the guitar, break the joint (easy) clean, load up the jig and fix with titebond. So far so good. I have a tonne of pics and will upload them at the end.

Today i am the General Manager of a paint shop so no concern with making it look the part, my problem is understanding the guitar :)and i need some help because i've never played guitar in my life but i am very confident i can get it together.

So, my Son became hooked when he was 8 after spending a couple of hours on my shoulders at an AC/DC concert. He has a Takamine acoustic and a Fender Electric and my aim is get the Les Paul running by the end of November for his birthday.

The condition of the guitar meant i didn't have the opportunity to hear it play so the question i have right now is what are the 3 switch positions in relation to the bridge and neck pick ups on a standard set up?