Need suggestions for a decent drum machine

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by RustyNuts, May 20, 2017.

1. RustyNuts

RustyNuts Premium Member

The title pretty well sums it up, looking for something to use as backing tracks for recording. What does everyone suggest? Not too worried about price range.

2. Frogfur

Frogfur Senior Member

Ginger Baker..

northernguitarguy and RustyNuts like this.
  3. RustyNuts

RustyNuts Premium Member

If only....

4. lakeburst

lakeburst Senior Member

XLN Addictive Drums

I have no experience with it, but a friend who is an ex pro drummer swears on this for his studio works, imho it sounds fantastic

Last edited: May 20, 2017
    RustyNuts and Freddy G like this.
  5. Freddy G

Freddy G V.I.P. Member

I had a drum session last week. There were a few issues with parts that weren't exactly working. So the drummer came over and we reworked the drum parts....but instead of recording we just used XLN Addictive Drums, with the thought that once we come up with kick/snare patterns that were good we would re-record the real drums. Addictive Drums sounded so good we kept it, the only thing we recorded for real was the hi-hat.

6. RustyNuts

RustyNuts Premium Member

Thanks guys, I'll be looking into it.

7. LPSGME

LPSGME Senior Member

RustyNuts likes this.
  8. RustyNuts

RustyNuts Premium Member

9. george4th

george4th Member

You guys don't like Superior Drummer? EZ Drummer as a starting point, but Superior as the end point. This is what I use with incredible results. Should I give Addictive a shot? And, what makes it better?
    G

10. spitfire

spitfire Senior Member

EZ Drummer is just that, easy, and quite likely all you would need if you just want to make some backing tracks. The more advanced programs are going to give you many more subtle options to tweak and play with. But, can also overwhelm you with options. Though of course you don't have to use those options, but if you don't use them, why pay for them.