My "creamy", in more ways than one, Strat!

Discussion in 'Fender' started by Les Paulverizer, Sep 22, 2017.

1. Les Paulverizer

Les Paulverizer Senior Member

I've had this Strat for about 3 years but hardly ever played it, never live and only occasionally for recording purposes, however further to a conversation with a friend of mine I went back listening to some 70s Fusion Jeff Beck, Narada Michael Walden, Stanley Clarke (all featuring the wonderful Ray Gomez on guitar) and people of that ilk, and that kinda rekindled my interest in this instrument, so I've been playing it more regularly for the last 5 months and it really is a wonderful guitar!

I've only made few modifications, when I bought it I didn't want a "super Strat" as much as I wanted a "better Strat" hence I avoided fitting yer typical humbuckers & stuff like that.

First I fitted locking tuners, they're made in China ones they're as good as any I've ever fitted; Sperzel, D'Addario (my favourite actually) you name 'em, I got 'em.
    Then 2 roller string tress which really help in keeping the guitar in tune
    After that I fitted a brass nut (love it) then it came to the neck & bridge pickups; a DiMarzio Fast Track 1 in the neck position and a Chopper at the bridge.
    What I really like about these DiMarzio's is that they still retain the original character of the Strat; in other words even though they're full humbuckers it still sounds like a "Fender Strat"(!) not like when you have a Jackson, an Ibanez or similar instruments where it could be any guitar (I mean, I played them all on a regular basis, I know what I'm talking about...)
    The two Tone pots are push-pull so the middle one allows me to split the neck pickup whereas the bottom, while also acting as Tone on the bridge pickup, allows me to split it; the tonal variety is immense and more than fulfils my live & recording needs!