MUSIC THEORY 101 Don't Be Afraid :)

Discussion in 'Guitar Lessons' started by jonesy, Sep 24, 2008.

1. jonesy

jonesy GLOBAL WIRING GURU MLP Vendor

I have been Teaching for over 25 years and do not use a book to teach out of. A new student gets an empty folder with their name on it and every lesson they get new stuff added as they go along. No matter what kind of Music they think they want to learn, there are certain basics we all must master. After they get going I focus on their interests and work on the things that they like and can use in their style of playing, plus a mix.

First Lesson...

The 7 White keys on the piano are A B C D E F G

The 5 Black keys on the piano are A# C# D# F# G# (flats later)

Combine them getting a 12 note chromatic scale, ever wonder why there are usually 2 dots at the 12th fret on most guitars????

A A# B C C# D D# E F F# G G# A etc...

notice no B# or E#???

I also refer to this as the Musical Alphabet or the answer key for solving any music theory problems

INTERVAL is the distance between 2 notes, the intervals in the chromatic scale are all 1/2 step or one fret intervals. It takes two 1/2 steps to make a whole step interval. A to B is a whole step, B to C is a 1/2 step, C to E is two whole steps, E to G is 1 1/2 steps and so on...

Next is the Major scale, IMO the Mother of all scales and what all basic chord theory in evolved from. Here is the Major Scale Formula, it is a series of half step and whole step intervals, 1/2 steps noted...

1........2.........3...(1/2 step)..4.........5.........6.........7...(1/2 step)...8

Root---------------------------------------------------------- Octave

C.......D.........E..................F..........G.........A...........B................C

A Major chord is made up of the 1 3 5 notes of it's root scale and a minor chord is 1 b3 5 basically taking the major chord and flatting the 3rd