Marshall DSL40c is it worth upgrading

Discussion in 'The Squawk Box' started by bsm9981, Feb 18, 2018.

1. bsm9981

bsm9981 Senior Member

Hi guys .I'm I'm the market for a new amp. I have been playing for about 6 years now and finally realize I'm a Marshall guy after going thru a bunch of different amps. I had a DSL40c and sold it out of necessity, but am looking to replace it with possibly another one. I think they sound good, bit amp wondering if it's worth the upgrade tone wise to look into a Friedman Dirty Shirley mini. No one around me carries them and from what I read people say they sound similar. I know the Friedman will be better quality, but what about sound wise? Is there that much difference? How about some recommendations as well of some other amps to look into. Budget is around $1500, new or used is fine. 20-40 watts at the most. Combo or head doesn't really matter.

cherrysunburst00 likes this.
  2. Standard 64

Standard 64 Senior Member

The new DSL's are very nice.Or maybe a JVM 50 watt combo is in your future?

cherrysunburst00 and bsm9981 like this.
  3. sk8rat

sk8rat Senior Member

If you can afford it I would say you cant go wrong with a friedman but there are a ton of amps that will get you better/similar tone than a dsl40 for cheaper than a friedman. I would say it all depends on what characteristics you liked most about the dsl40.

if your budget is $1500 you could get yourself a good amp and cab no problem.

cherrysunburst00 and bsm9981 like this.
  4. EndGame00

EndGame00 Senior Member

The DSL40 does not sound like a Dirty Shirley... Friedman DS is closely similar to a hotrodded JTM45... even in the used market, Friedman is pretty expensive...

Just wait for the Marshall Origin to come out...

cherrysunburst00 and bulletproof like this.
  5. rjwilson37

rjwilson37 Senior Member