Marshall Cabs

Discussion in 'The Squawk Box' started by clutchcargo, Sep 5, 2017.

1. clutchcargo

clutchcargo Bionic Member Premium Member

What would you guys recommend based on your ears and experience as far as amp cabinets go. I'm specifically looking for a Marshall slanted cab but I'm also open too other cabinets as well. And speakers? What the hell are those things? Lol. A lot to choose from and I'm a total noob.
    Would these cabinets be cheaper to build one? Is the tolex and all the fancy fixings really necessary?
    I'm pretty handy with a tape and drill driver. I don't know about dove tail jointing though, or wrapping tolex and grill cloth.

All recommendations welcomed.

Thanks in advance
    TK

2. clutchcargo

By the way, I'm thinking 2x12 should do nicely.

3. chunktone

chunktone Member

I personally prefer Celestion Vintage 30's. ymmv

4. Cjsinla

Cjsinla Premium Member

What amp are you planning to us? I built a 2 X 12 cab and put two 8 ohm Vintage 30's wired in series. That is 16 ohms and 120 watts. I run my JCM800's and Plexi through it. Been using it for years with no problems. It's much lighter and smaller than my Marshall 4 X 12 and it fits easily in my car for gigs and rehearsals.

RAG7890 and clutchcargo like this.
  5. clutchcargo

A 50 watt 1987 plexi clone.

6. clutchcargo

I'll add that I don't play out. So that baby is going to be planted in my music room until they come get my dead body. Then my wife can worry about how she's going to get rid of it. :thumbs:

7. Cjsinla

Cjsinla Premium Member