Line 6 Guitar Port

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Mike's_LP, Dec 6, 2009.

  1. Mike's_LP

    Mike's_LP Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,477
    Likes Received:
    2,492
    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    I'm thinking about getting one, it only costs $100 at SweetWater or MF. I'll be working some crazy OT at work that will basically kill my social life (Including jamming with friends.) 'til the end of January. It seems like a simple interface with some cool apps. Does anybody have experience with this device?
     
  2. if6was9

    if6was9 Senior Member

    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    289
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Not with the Guitar Port but I have a Tone Port:
    [​IMG]

    Paid $49 from MF a little over a year ago. Only came with 'gear box' software which I uninstall after about a week. Been using it with Amplitube and Guitar Rig. Great basic interface, I would think that Guitar Port would be better.

    Good Luck on your Sonic Quest
     
  3. spitfire

    spitfire Premium Member

    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    1,334
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    I subscribed to guitarport.com and for $35 plus shipping, I got the Tone Port and a 3 month subscription to guitarport online. I don't know the difference between the Guitar Port and Tone Port hardware. But I can point out some of the issues with the Tone Port you should look into if considering any Line 6 hardware like this.

    The Tone Port MUST be used with your PC. It doesn't operate stand-alone. You also cannot directly record, via USB, with the Tone Port. Higher end products like the POD X3 do this.

    I only used a Tone Port with the GearBox software and thought it worked well. I still use GearBox every day for jamming with backing tracks. It's very convenient for that since you can select and playback music files and then easily select the amp and effects you want to use.

    Since you said you wanted something to sort of replace jamming with your friends, I highly recommend the guitarport.com subscription. I think for less than $40 you'd get the hardware you need and a 3 month subscription to guitarport online.

    If you're not familiar with guitarport.com, check it out. They have hundreds of songs, mostly covers that are done really well. You can playback the entire mix, or versions with no guitars. They also have lots of lesson type things. It's a lot like an online magazine with tab and recordings to go along with it. Also, for most (all?) songs, when you download them into GearBox, you will get the amp/effects settings to go along with the tune. It's really pretty cool.

    I don't want to over sell guitarport.com, it does have it's drawbacks. For example, you can't print out the tabs. Being a subscription service, you can only access the downloaded tabs and songs as long as your subscription is active. Though I think you can always keep the tones. One last pain in the a$$ was that when I upgraded to a POD X3, non of the songs I had downloaded would work. From what I can tell, they bind the authorization of the songs to your actual Line 6 hardware. Not a super big deal, since you can just download them again, but again, a pain.

    Keep in mind, you are not limited to using these downloaded songs with GearBox. GearBox will allow you to playback any MP3 or wav file and play along with it. Of course you won't have tab or some of the other things that come with the downloads from guitarport.com, but I love jamming with it.
     
  4. John Ucol

    John Ucol Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,579
    Likes Received:
    1,410
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    I use the guitarport when I'm recording guitars (or bass whenever I mooch of my friend's) with my computer. Personally, I like it, I'm able to get some good tones with it (ok, some people are going to chew it out for not being the real deal tube stuff-- but its sound pretty close, and it still can sound really good). Also, from my experience with it, it's not a PITA to use either- be it setting up or dialing in tones, so there's another plus to it, haha. :thumb:
     
  5. jimmyq

    jimmyq Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,793
    Likes Received:
    256
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    I used to use a Toneport GX, and have recently upgraded to a UX2. Both really easy to use and sound great, IMO.

    Love them both, top marks from me. :thumb:
     
  6. TeleDog

    TeleDog V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    8,913
    Likes Received:
    2,858
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Spitfire, you really like it? I looked at Sweetwater and MF and they got the Line 6 Toneport stuff, never seen any cheaper version.

    Maybe you just bought it at Gramma's (west side)?.. :D
     
  7. spitfire

    spitfire Premium Member

    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    1,334
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    TeleDog,

    Sounds like your local to me in ABQ.

    Actually I was mistaken, The TonePort plus 3 months subscription to guitarport online isn’t $35 it’s now $29.95. Jeez, I sound like a salesman.

    It’s a bundle offered by guitarport online. I do think there are some different flavors of TonePorts. The one I got from guitarport.com is a TonePort DX. I have no idea how it may compare to other TonePorts. I think for $30 bucks, you can’t go wrong. Even if you ultimately don’t continue the subscription, you can jam along to backing tracks. I’ve been having a lot of fun jamming to the Guitar Center King of The Blues backing tracks. They are really well done.

    And, yes I do like it. I think it might be perfect for the OP. He said he was looking for something to allow him to jam with by himself. Now, I have since got a POD X3 and I honestly think it sounds a bit better for the same settings. Though could be as simple as a better headphone amp. Doesn’t matter though. The TonePort sounds quite good and it’s more than good enough for jamming with backing tracks.

    But again, while it interfaces to your PC via USB, you can NOT record via this USB interface. If you want to record, you have to run the analog out from the TonePort to an analog input on your PC.
     
  8. TeleDog

    TeleDog V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    8,913
    Likes Received:
    2,858
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Not really, I just have canine intuition! lol... I can predict awful, crappy weather for you today! lol

    Have you tried using a plug in with modeling amp into, say, Garageband or Logic? If you can get the signal into the computer, you should be able to record somehow.
     
  9. spitfire

    spitfire Premium Member

    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    1,334
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    TeleDog,

    I've not used Garageband or Logic. But I have used some other recording programs (RiffWorks? and Reaper) and as near as I can tell, the TonePort simply doesn’t present itself as an audio input source to the PC.

    I would certainly agree that if the TonePort data is coming into the PC for processing, then it should only be a matter of having the appropriate driver to allow for recording.

    If that’s possible (and I did look at that several months ago), then I wasn’t able to find out how to do it. That was one of several reasons I got a POD X3.
     
  10. guysmiley

    guysmiley Senior Member

    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    259
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    I use it. I like it. Good for practice, learning songs, recording quietly. Works for Bass and Vocals as well. Saves money.
     
  11. Mike's_LP

    Mike's_LP Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,477
    Likes Received:
    2,492
    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Thanks guys, especially Spitfire. I'm not familiar with the TonePort, but for $30, it sounds like it does exactly what the GuitarPort does at $100. There has to be more to it, I'll take a closer look. Also the online service for the GP costs $8 a month, or so I've read.

    One more question. Do you know if it works with Vista? All the specs I've seen at three sites (Line 6, MF & SweetWater) says it works with XP. Compatibility issues between the two OS's are well known. I called MF & they had no idea, the guy at SW didn't know either, but he said he'd find out & E-mail me. I can't imagine L6 not having a patch, but I'd hate to get it & be SOL. Maybe I'm just paraniod...
     
  12. spitfire

    spitfire Premium Member

    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    1,334
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    MKLP,

    The TonePort is no doubt the low end of the scale for these things. So be sure to take a close look and compare the features between the TonePort and higher end Line6 interfaces. As to the guitarport.com subscription, you're right that it is $8 per month. But for $30, you get 3 months AND the TonePort.

    I use the TonePort and GearBox on an XP machine and have no idea about Vista. I'd be very surprised if Line6 didn't support Vista. But I'm sure you could find out something on the Line6 web site. I think they have a pretty responsive tech support. At least in their forums, I see posts from Line6 techs.

    Also, you do get GearBox with any of the Line6 stuff and that will get you what you want without having to subscribe or have anything to do with the guitarport.com subscription. I just wanted to make you aware of the guitarport.com bundle that I think is an excellent deal and a great way to jump into this with relatively minimal expense.
     
  13. jimmyq

    jimmyq Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,793
    Likes Received:
    256
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    The line 6 software and hardware works fine on Vista and Windows 7 for me.
     
  14. Rich

    Rich Non sequitur Premium Member

    Messages:
    24,602
    Likes Received:
    59,092
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    I have GuitarPort. I bought it to be able to quickly and easily record song ideas and it's excellent for that. After you play around with all the amp models, I think you'll find that they mostly sound all the same with different EQ curves and levels of overdrive available. That is, don't expect a Fender-like model to be a similar experience to playing a Fender amp and likewise with Marshall, Vox, etc.; they all have a similar flavor to them, IMO. My favorite is the AC30 with matching 2x12 cabinet.

    It probably sounds like I'm trashing GuitarPort, but I'm not. It's a great tool for what I need it for - quickly recording ideas whenever they fly into my head before I forget them. I unplug from my amp, plug into the GuitarPort interface, start up the Line 6 software and my wav recorder program and I'm in business in two minutes.
     
  15. spitfire

    spitfire Premium Member

    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    1,334
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Something about the Line6 amp sims that is REALLY important is the cabinet simulation. Amp sims can go from crap to great, just by selecting a different cabinet sim. And don't forget you get to simulate the type and position of the recording mic. Sort of makes my head hurt to think about all the variables.
     
  16. if6was9

    if6was9 Senior Member

    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    289
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    For recording I use Sony Sound forge and have had no problems interfacing with the Tone Port. When you plug in the Tone Port, it take over as your default "sound card". It requires tweaking the settings in Control Panel.

    I'm currently using the Tone Port with my laptop, using Windows 7 64 bit version (had to download 64 bit drivers from Line 6). It works just fine. Of course, some can have problems with driver conflicts from other software installed.

    Your Mileage May Vary!
     
  17. Mike's_LP

    Mike's_LP Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,477
    Likes Received:
    2,492
    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Thanks for a all the help guys. I have it confirmed from multiple sources that it does work with Vista.

    I'm really not expecting Rectifier or Plexi stack or Bassman tones to magically come out of this thing, but reasonable, usable tones. I'll be "jamming" with some Line 6 cover band & as long as I can get some tone I can fit in or stand out with, I'll be happy.

    I think I'll order the RiffTracker model. It's supposed to record very easily & if I read it correctly, I'll be able to use the tracks on programs like Garage Band (Once I bring the old Mac up-to-date.) or ProTools & the like.

    I'll probably order it from SW next weekend. Rent on the 15th. & gift shopping means I can't do it any sooner. I'll be sure to tell you guys about it once I get it.
     
  18. AngryHatter

    AngryHatter Senior Member

    Messages:
    17,185
    Likes Received:
    13,091
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Get one off of eBay.
    I think I paid $50 for a fine, working Guitar Port.
    Just make sure the seller releases the serial number so you can register it.

    That said, I don't use it much anymore.
    I bought it to record my guitar and backing tracks - which it does well.
     
  19. Mike's_LP

    Mike's_LP Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,477
    Likes Received:
    2,492
    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    ** UPDATE**

    I know it's been a while, but I've either been too busy or tired to follow up on this, in more ways than one... So I got the RiffTracker from Musician's Friend (SweetWater didn't have any in stock) in early Jan. everything seemed pretty cool with it. My favorite mod was "Citrus" so far, I was just scratching the surface of the whole thing when I started getting a staticy sound through my speakers! I jiggled all the wires, tried different cables, etc. It was coming from the GuitarPort! I called MF right away, they asked me if I wanted a refund or exchange. I asked for an exchange & was E-mailed a UPS label right away. Some of you might recall I was in a huge project at work with thirteen-hour weekdays & four hrs. every other Saturday. Then I took a vacation two weeks ago after the two-month project was finished... Basically, I forgot about the whole thing! Tonight, I find this $200 waste..... CRAP!! I go through my E-mails from MF, I see I'm WAY outside the 45-day return policy. I figure maybe I can get it fixed somehow, I'll Call MF & I'll try Line6 after that...... I'm on the phone with the CS rep Meghan, (Always liked that name.) I give her the order # and briefly explain my situation. At first she's dubious, but then she finds that since it has already been approved, I'm set to go! All I have to do is return the old one for a new one!! I have a new UPS label in my inbox, ready to be printed! :dude:
     
  20. madcadmium

    madcadmium Junior Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    The reason for the static might be because you updated your mac to snow leopard. as of right now line 6 doesn't have drivers that work correctly for snow leopard (os x 10.6). i too started getting the static after updating my mac.
     

Share This Page