Kristel Blackman - Les Paul Girl #14 - 12/18/08

Discussion in 'The Backstage' started by Alex, Dec 18, 2008.

1. Alex

Alex Administrator Super Mod Premium Member

[​IMG]

Congratulations to Kristel Blackman from Australia for making Les Paul Girl #14!

Tell us a little about your musical experience.

I have loved music and wanted to play some kind of instrument since I was little. My dad always worked until late most nights when we were growing up and when he came home my sister and I used to nag him until he’d play ‘Blue Suede Shoes’ on his acoustic guitar and we’d dance around the kitchen! I started playing keyboards when I was nine, then violin from 11 to 13 and then bass guitar from 14 to 18…then I finally got to playing six-string guitar around then. In high school I played in an all-girl band called Tantalum (but with different members) on the bass (I played my dad’s 1980 model Rickenbacker 4001) and also developed a taste for recording and producing music in the studio.

How long have you been playing?

People always say to me “Please don’t say two years”…and that used to be my answer! I’m 22 and I only started taking guitar seriously at about 19. I played acoustic a bit before then, just chords and learning the technique properly after playing bass – using my fingers! – for so long.

I reached a point in my life when I had finished high school and had begun my first year of my Diploma of Audio Engineering and was finding the transition difficult so I just stayed home and let it all out on guitar and that’s how I picked it up so quickly.

I also have a few exceptionally talented close friends who invited me to jam with them, and they were like teachers – which has been so helpful to my playing.

What would you like people to know about you and/or your band? Got a Website?