I find it hard playing a Strat

Discussion in 'Fender' started by Tim Plains, Dec 12, 2008.

1. Tim Plains

Tim Plains Senior Member

I'm not bashing Fender and not complaining, by any means...

I've been playing Gibson guitars exclusively for almost three years. I bought a Strat in October and it really takes me a while to adjust to it. The neck feels really small and the middle pickup keeps getting in the way. My right hand naturally wants to pick right on top of that middle pickup and it drives me nuts! Anybody else?

2. Zoshquin

Zoshquin Senior Member

same.. It feels odd playing a strat.. XD

3. jomo

jomo V.I.P. Member

Other way around for me. My favorite guitars have always been.
    1. Les Paul
    2.Telecaster
    I never liked Strats really, that is until I played mine. After playing Les Pauls and big neck Teles, the Strat felt way easier. I'm not a very good player but I do feel better on a Strat (at least my C/S).

4. Dino

Dino Senior Member

I have a hard time with Strats too.
    The volume knob is way too close and I'm always turning myself down while playing.

Some would say that is a good thing. :)

5. worn

worn Senior Member

I have 2 Strats, and a Tele, just got a Gibson this year and I find the Gibson harder to play. There's nothing wrong with the Gibson, I'm just used to the Fender neck.

6. ellem52

ellem52 Senior Member

Ynwgie Malmsteen once said that companies would send him these ridiculously pointy guitars but say, "The neck on this is essentially a 60s Strat neck," to which YW said, "But what about the body? My ribs are deformed from playing a Strat my whole life."

7. Jason

Jason Senior Member

I've heard people complain about the pickup thing but I don't get it... are some of you guys really getting the pick in there deep? Or are the pickups on a strat super close to the strings?

8. 73roadrunner

73roadrunner Senior Member