How To Bias an Amplifier ??? and Why ???

Discussion in 'The Squawk Box' started by BOBBO, Mar 11, 2008.

1. BOBBO

BOBBO Banned

I'm not very good with electronics ... So maybe someone with knowledge with Amps can answer a question ? How do you set the bias adjustment ? and what exactly does the bias control do ? I assume it adjusts the plate voltage so you can run your amp either with the tubes running cooler or hotter ?? Is the only tool required a bias probe ??? I'm currently running a Marshall 50 watt JCM800 combo with EL34's .... 2 x EL34 .... 3 x ECC83 .......

2. Mike60

Mike60 V.I.P. Member

my understanding is you only bias an amp with four power tubes not two power tubes...however,unless you really know what you are doing take it to an amp guy if you are experiencing any problems

3. loverocker

loverocker Member

Wrong.

Bias - in some ways - is like the 'idle' setting on a car's engine. It sets the amount of current running through the amp when there's no guitar signal (i.e. you're not pressing the accelerator pedal).

The plate voltage stays the same, and it's a matter of either:

1) adjusting a negative voltage applied to the control grid (the same electrode the guitar signal is connected to) - this is counter-intuitively called a 'fixed-bias' design, although it's almost always adjustable by one or more preset pots. This covers 50W and 100W Marshalls, most >25W Fenders, etc.

2) using a resistor in the connection between the power valve's cathode(s) and ground to set a voltage difference between control grid and cathode. This arrangement is called cathode bias and is almost never adjustable. It covers Fender Champs, Epi Valve Junior, Marshall 18W.

So if your amp is in Group 2, you don't adjust anything.