Hondo II Les Paul copy

Discussion in 'Other Single-Cuts' started by DPaulCustom, Jun 14, 2011.

1. DPaulCustom

DPaulCustom Senior Member

Wondering if anyone on the Forum has any thoughts about the Hondo II copies.:)

2. DDcat

DDcat Senior Member

Hondo was the butt of many jokes when I started playing guitar in the late 70s. Their guitars run the gamut from insanely crappy to not half shabby on the upper end. Some, like the professional series, where made in Japan I believe and have set necks. Hondo is a brand that would have to be approached on an example basis so a picture of the model would help people to help you determine if it's a clunker or not. From the mid-level on up most examples can be set up to play pretty decently so if its cheap enough it might be worth investigating further.

3. captcoolaid

captcoolaid Senior Member

I have had Hondos and Memphis Lp's and loved them both very much when I was younger. But as said above they are on a piece by piece basis. How much is the one you are looking at.

4. DPaulCustom

DPaulCustom Senior Member

5. captcoolaid

captcoolaid Senior Member

Dude I learned how to play on a Hondo just like the first one. Beware not all of them have solid caps as in a few wood braces under them to support the very thin laminate. Tap the hell out of the top before you buy. Just saying. I think there was a polish a turd thread where a guy encountered this with a similar guitar. Also find out the weight of the guitar as well that would probably be a good indicator. But they are fun as hell. The price seems a little steep though for a Hondo

6. rayspang

rayspang Senior Member

Some Hondo II's came stock with Dimarzio pickups. They can be made into good players after replacing the cheap original hardware.

7. 12watt

12watt Senior Member