[HELP] Possible broken valve on Tiny Terror

Discussion in 'The Squawk Box' started by Thiago, May 10, 2012.

1. Thiago

Thiago Senior Member

I've recently bought an used Orange Tiny Terror Combo which, as far as I know, had been really well taken care of by the former owner.

I've been taken care of it as if it was a lady! I always turn it on at the stand-by position with volume and gain set to 0 and wait at least 5 minutes before selecting it to 7 or 15w and beating the hell out of it!

Although I don't believe that's the case, I've already tried another guitar, another cable, another anything but the amp.

The thing is: I'm taking it to somebody who understands and works with amps tomorrow but, considering I'm a newbie, I decided asking you guys first so I have at least the minimum input before the guy tries to "steal" me!

Is it possible that I got a broken valve? What other issues may I have?

I really do aprecciate any help and I am already very thankfull!

PS.: That's the first thread I start. I'm familiar with forums and read the rules section and hope/believe I'm not breaking any rules nor posting at the wrong section. I so, I apologize!

2. logen99999

logen99999 Senior Member

what exactly is the problem with the amp? you have not told us this.

also you dont need to wait 5 min after putting it in standby to play. i usually wait 10 to 15 seconds. all standby does is warm the tubes up and that happens pretty quick.

4 people like this.
  3. Thiago

Thiago Senior Member

Maaannn... I was so worried about leaving a nice and clear thread I forgot to tell what's happening! I'm sorry!

What happens is that I don't get the usual drive it delivers. When I got it I used to have the gain all the way up and the volume up to the third tick. It would give me lots of drive and it was loud enough.

Now I put the gain all the way up and the volume half way up and all I get is a little drive (just above clean if you know what I mean) and not that loud...

Thanks!