Help on authenticating Gibson LP

Discussion in 'Gibson Les Pauls' started by Joziasse, Aug 13, 2013.

1. Joziasse

Joziasse Junior Member

Hi everyone

I'm relatively new to the identifying of a genuine Gibson, but I have learned a thing or two. Yesterday I stumbled upon this ad for a Gibson Les Paul Special + Custom, supposedly from 2003, and I could'nt really pinpoint the model with the dot position markers and some kind of elliptical inlay on the 12th fret.

Can anyone identify this as being a genuine USA Gibson, of defraud this thing? Any info will be much appreciated!

The link: http://fr.kapaza.be/vi/75511812.htm?ca=1_s

Kind regards

Joziasse

ps: I've seen many beautiful guitars on this forum, very nice

2. politenessman

politenessman Senior Member

i am not great at this, but that is not any kind of custom. the pictures look like they were taken with a radio, but the neck looks like it has a scarf joint a few inches up from the body.

1 person likes this.
  3. Joziasse

Joziasse Junior Member

Hi

Thanks for the reply. Yes, the pictures are suspiciously fuzzy. Nevertheless, on the headstock you can read 'Special', while the trussrod cover says 'Custom'. You say it's no custom - this has to do with the neckjoint?

If so, the trussrod cover would have to be taken off another guitar for it to still be a genuine Gibson, I gather. It would be an odd thing to do.

4. tzd

tzd Senior Member

It's not a Les Paul Custom. It's a self-customized Les Paul Special. I'm guessing the 12th fret inlay is a sticker, and the back of the neck has been sanded. But no way I would buy based on the fuzzy pictures, who knows what he's trying to hide.

5. Stormin1155

Stormin1155 Member

Better pictures are in order. In particular, close-ups of the neck, front and back; headstock, front and back; and the bridge. I've never seen a LP appointed like that one.

6. Farquad

Farquad Double Platinum Supporter