[HELP] Noise problem on Guitar Rig 5

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by zz133zz, Feb 9, 2014.

  1. zz133zz

    zz133zz Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    First of all, sorry if i post the thread in a wrong section

    I have a Epiphone Zakk Wylde Signature Bullseye MIK w/ EMG 81/60 (upgraded from HZs) on it and i play this guitar with Guitar Rig 5 but I got a noise problem on it when i tried to change the preset to the metal/High Gain stuff...

    It's sounds like white noise even when I turn the guitar volume down :shock:

    FYI I plug the guitar only using a Aux cable (kinda stupid :doh:) with a 1/4" to 3.5 mm converter that comes with my headphone (not a cheap one) through the 'line in' input on my onboard soundcard

    So where's this problem coming from? cable or what? :confused:
    and i actually wanna change the cable to Planet waves American Stage and buy a converter to plug it in to my computer but will it sound as supposed to sound?

    Thanks.
     
  2. lucidspoon

    lucidspoon Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,183
    Likes Received:
    4,918
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    It's the soundcard. Your aux in doesn't have a preamp necessary to get the volume to a point where the software can use it. You need and audio interface with a preamp.
     
  3. zz133zz

    zz133zz Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    thanks for your reply
    what if i replace the cable to instrument/guitar cable and plug it in to the computer with a converter? will it solve the problem or i have to buy the audio interface to solve this problem?
    if so, what is the best audio interface for guitar recording under $100?
    audio interface are a bit pricey here anyways, due a tax...
     
  4. lucidspoon

    lucidspoon Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,183
    Likes Received:
    4,918
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Just changing the cable won't hangs the fact that you don't have a preamp. Aux in is expecting a line level signal. Your guitar is instrument level which is too low. A cheap mixer with instrument inputs and a line out might work to plug into the aux in. But not 100% sure.

    This is pretty popular: PreSonus AudioBox USB | Sweetwater.com
     
  5. zz133zz

    zz133zz Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    okay dude
    Thanks, i'll take that Audio Interface :thumb:
     
  6. Telepaul

    Telepaul Junior Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    in case you didn't order that yet, the m audio m track has more features for less of a price, midi i/o and mono/stereo switching
     
  7. zz133zz

    zz133zz Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Actually i've got the Focusrite 2i2 instead of Audiobox USB :laugh2:
    and I liked it especially the build quality :dude:
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. user xyz

    user xyz Senior Member

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    That's the Ticket--Best Bang for the Buck Audio Interface.

    I have the 18i6 and with GR 5 it sounds Phenomenal!! :slash:
     
  9. KP11520

    KP11520 Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,430
    Likes Received:
    5,244
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Whatever Audio Interface you get, make sure the mic input preamps also accommodate High-Z inputs (Electric Guitar and Bass)

    Then you'll be good to go.

    Both Presonus and Focusrite are very good, but I'd give the edge to Focusrite.

    Good luck!
     

Share This Page