Help needed '62 SG

Discussion in 'Vintage SG' started by KNAC, Jan 11, 2017.

1. KNAC

KNAC Senior Member

I have a chance to buy '62 SG. Haven't seen the guitar in person yet. There is something in the pics that tell me run away. I'm not an expert with SG's so please have a look.

Also both pups have clearly been off and pup covers doesn't have virgin joints. There seems to be plugged holes in the upper horn, cloud have been overspayed after plugging?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. depuis1899

depuis1899 Senior Member

Neck joint looks legit for those years. Headstock and harness as well.
    Covers have been off 100%, curious to know if these are still original PAF's.
    Tuners might ( I say might as I cant really see it well ) been replaced.
    Otherwise the guitar looks 'fine' too me.

what do the pot codes say?
    And what makes you think you should run away from it?

3. KNAC

KNAC Senior Member

Tuners are single line/double ring so those are period correct at least. Hard to tell if PAF's are original or not. In a worst case scenario covers off means rewound.

I tend to be careful with vintage gear. Those little color variations near headstock and neck heel joint bothers me a bit.

4. depuis1899

depuis1899 Senior Member

Color could be many reasons, but really hard to tell if you can't see the guitar yourself.
    The guitar overall looks to be period correct, but best would be to see it of course.
    Looks like she has been played extensively for years and then stored away for decades

5. Dolebludger

Dolebludger Premium Member

The tuners have probably been replaced by replicas. That is because the original tuning keys would have "rotted" even with a case queen. (I know because I have an SG Standard I bought in Nov. '61.) So it is normal if the tuners are not original. Without a serial number, can't say more.

6. Kris Ford

Kris Ford Senior Member

[​IMG]