GUITARS-The Museum, a work in progress

Discussion in 'Vintage Les Pauls' started by GooCart, Apr 3, 2013.

1. GooCart

GooCart V.I.P. Member

Hi,
    as some of you know I am a industrial designer and I work in many different fields, I have designed everything from telephones and hockey helmets to caravans and RVs. Some of you might also have seen the guitar I designed for Tom Bartlett and Kim Lafleur, the Bartlett Retrospec.

As a designer I have some projects I think it could be cool to be involved in, like a new BMW, a cool boat maybe or why not a new Gibson guitar. But to tell you the truth, that's not really who I am. I'm a vintage kind of guy and it's not often, if ever, you get a chance to design something that's supposed to be vintage or even have the smallest vintage vibe. But that was until just recently........

Two old friends of me, the twin brothers Sam & Mike Åhdén, have a huge guitar collection. They started to collect guitars, drums and amps way back in the 70's and have today a really impressive collection of vintage musical equipment. The collection includes a number of 50's Gibson Les Pauls, a 1950 Fender Broadcaster (similar previously owned by Pink Floyd’s David Gilmour), a bunch of 50's and 60's Stratocasters and two '59 Gibson Flying Vs and comprises over 500 pieces in total.

The twin brothers, me and the other guys involved in this project I'm about to introduce to you share the same dedication for these old guitars and I'm really enthusiastic to share some cool news with you.