Guitar kit/bridge placement issues

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by CaseyD, Dec 30, 2017.

1. CaseyD

CaseyD Junior Member

280F27DD-70B1-4F93-BD02-5581105DE133.jpeg Hello everybody I’m new to the Page And need some advice. I am putting together a Les Paul Junior guitar kit and I’m having some trouble getting my measurements set to drill for the bridge. The scale length is about 24 inches, however on that measurement it looks like the bridge needs to be almost in the pick up cavity for the scale length to be right. It’s more than likely the kit itself that’s off. So my question is if I set the bridge a little further away will that greatly destroy any hopes of proper intonation? Also, I’d like the Bridge to be offset, so where on the bridge would I measure to be at the scale length? I was thinking the center of the bridge would be at 24 inches leaving the low E a smidge lower and the high E a smidge higher. Thanks for any help in advance.

I’ll try to include a picture of where the scale is in relation to the body/pickup cavity

2. Freddy G

Freddy G V.I.P. Member

about 24"? Please give an exact measurement from the nut to the dead center of the 12th fret

dickjonesify and CaseyD like this.
  3. CaseyD

CaseyD Junior Member

It looks like it’s 12 to 12&1/16

Attached Files:

4. Bobby Mahogany

Bobby Mahogany Senior Member

DO NOT DRILL until you know exactly where to.
    Otherwise your guitar WILL NEVER BE IN TUNE.

CaseyD likes this.
  5. CaseyD

CaseyD Junior Member

Absolutely, definitely not taking it lightly.

Bobby Mahogany likes this.
  6. pshupe

pshupe Senior Member

Looks like 12 3/8”, which would make 24 3/4” which is a very common scale. Measure 24 3/4” from the nut and place the bridge there. Do not drill. Get a trapeze or other tailpiece and intonate low and high E and then drill.

Regards Peter.

warprider, CaseyD and WhiteEpiLP like this.
  7. Freddy G

Freddy G V.I.P. Member