Gibson Les Paul Gold Top

Discussion in 'Gibson Les Pauls' started by HeatMan011, May 8, 2012.

1. HeatMan011

HeatMan011 Junior Member

hey guys, this is my first post here.. I wish it wouldnt be my last.. :)

anyway Im from Belgrade, Serbia, and there is a guitar that is being sold by some guy in a nearby city..

Now, the guitar is supposed to be a gibson lp gold top from 70's.. 78,79 i suppose.. The back side was refurbished, and the pups are some seymore duncans.. and I cant see the serial number on the back of the headstock.. And under that, where it should say made in usa, there is just USA..

the price is just 850e. Now, I dont mind the price ofcourse, but Im thinking that this could be a scam of some sort..

I couldnt say that Im new to gibsons, because I didnt ever consider buying one before a few months ago.. Im mainly a strat/musicman guy.. And I wanted to buy some dual humbucker guitar (I would of prefered the g&l deluxe with coil tap option) and a p90 guitar..

I was very interested in lp studio 60s tribute, but I played it.. and yes it did sound ok, but it felt strange.. Maby 'cause of the baked maple fretboard, dunno.. It just felt cheap, but the sound was very nice, and I liked the satin finish.. So I figured that I dont want my axe to fall apart in a few years..

So, would you recommend this guitar to me? Its in another city so I need to get somebody to drive me over there (I dont have a permit), and I already had bad experience with testing guitars/amps in some other cities.. I always come back empty handed.. :/

if not, what guitar should I look for (in a <1000 euros price range) for that lp p90 or vintage hum sound?

here are the pics:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

THANKS A LOT!

1 person likes this.
  2. zslane

zslane Senior Member

I am going to say this one isn't a genuine Gibson.

1. The logo shouldn't be gold silkscreen, and the "Les Paul model" does not look like the correct script to me.