Gibson Kills Another...

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by drkato, Nov 22, 2017.

1. drkato

drkato Double Platinum Supporter

Like Studio Vision before it, Cakewalk is now no more.

"Earlier this week, Gibson Brands announced the end of Cakewalk, a music software developer within its portfolio of companies. Purchased by Gibson in 2013, Cakewalk was widely known for developing SONAR, a DAW software package that competed with Logic and Pro Tools."

https://reverb.com/news/gibson-brands-announces-the-closure-of-cakewalk

Attached Files:

2. rockstar232007

rockstar232007 Senior Member

Shame. I've been using Cakewalk/Sonar for nearly 20 years, and it's easily one of the best/easiest programs to work with.

Zungle, Frogfur, Juan Wayne and 2 others like this.
  3. DarrellV

DarrellV Likes > Posts Silver Supporter Premium Member

Didn't know Gibson owned it.... Shame, really!

IIRC Cakewalk was one of the first consumer DAWS when this stuff was just in its infantsy.

rockstar232007 likes this.
  4. DarrellV

DarrellV Likes > Posts Silver Supporter Premium Member

Seriously! I think I picked up my copy at a store like Boscovs back in the day..

Found it on the shelf with the rest of the entry level software stores used to sell when computers were still the rage.

Years later i recommended it to our church for weekly service soundtrack production. They liked it too.

Really easy to use. I recommended it to another Pastor from a different church to transcribe his sermons onto at home with a laptop...

Last edited: Nov 22, 2017
  5. Static

Static Senior Member

Aarrrggghhh Gibson... We've used Sonar for years in the studio. We had Windows PCs back in the day and Pro Tools was MAC only then. We stuck with Cakewalk all these years. What the hell is wrong with Henry? I'm pissed.

6. Nicky

Nicky On The Road Less Traveled Premium Member