Gibson 1959 Explorer Replica build

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Marn99, Sep 13, 2017.

1. Marn99

Marn99 Member

This is my first post here! A little bit about me, I am a 17 year old luthier named Ben and I have a fascination with building replica guitars to every detail possible. Recently, I had the opportunity to visit Dave's Guitar Shop in La Crosse, WI, where I went to see the 1959 Gibson Explorer they have and get some questions answered.
    IMG_20170902_104536615_HDR.jpg
    While I got some of my questions answered I still find myself having some lingering questions, and I would like to know if anyone around here could perhaps answer them! While this thread will eventually become a build thread, right now I am starting with prep for it. I also posted many of these questions on TDPRI, but I am simply diversifying my search for answers. Without further adieu, here are my questions.

First, my pickguard will be cellulose nitrate, I have a guy who is going to be CNCing the pickguard for me, his template being drawn from a real 1958, but I have to buy the pickguard material in ply's. What is the best way to glue/bind the 4 ply's of celluloid together?

Does anyone here have any details about the neck? First, I have no idea if the neck pocket is angled or flat, and second, it looks as if the fingerboard meets with the body and the body is angled where the joint is, can anyone comment?
    Who would you say makes the best non aged black butyrate pickup rings?
    Who makes the best non aged celluloid (they were celluloid right?) top hat knobs in gold? (I know DMC has them, are Montreux and CreamTone also the original plastic formula?)

Where can I find Catalin for the switch tip?

How vintage correct is the Original ABR-1 bridge that stewmac sells? Apparently it is made by the same company that made the originals but it is better to make sure it is true to original before i drop 47 dollars on it.