Getting my first 59

Discussion in 'The Custom Shop' started by awangoreng, Oct 1, 2017.

1. awangoreng

awangoreng Junior Member

Hi all,
    This is my very first post in this forum. A quick intro, i am 28yo from a small town far east of Indonesia (you probably heard of Raja Ampat, one of the last few paradises on earth, yes i live there). I dont consider myself as a guitarist nor musician because of my skill is way below average. However, ive been collecting guitars for the last 4 years. Looking at them hanging on my showcase and listening to them gives me chill thats worth more that what i paid for them.

My current collection are Martin D45, original vintage 1969 Telecaster, custom shop Es345, 2013 historic reissue 1958 Les paul, Taylor 814ce 2013, 1998 limited edition of 10 1958 fender custom shop strat by jason smith, Slash vermillion and vintage reissue tele 58. I am selling my avri 58 and slash vermillion to fund my first 1959 LP.

So here is where i need your help

I am very confused whether to get collectors choice or TH murphy aged. I dont have access to compare each of them. The closest store that has some of them is 6 hours flight to singapore. I havent paid them a visit though. The other option is buying online from japan used market. thats why i need your input here. Things i consider is mainly investment value. I am not trying to make profit in the future nor selling it, but it gives satisfaction to see the value of my collection is promising. Second consideration is i am not that kind of sell and buy another one kind of guy, so i am very picky when making my decision.

My options at the moment are TH murphy aged, cc gruhn burst (both used from japan), CC kathryn, CC dangerburst, CC carmelita (available in singapore) and Artist series Tak matsumoto aged (used market in japan). Their prices are all on my budget (around $6500-$9000).