Fret Buzz on acoustic guitar advice please

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Comus, Sep 7, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Comus

Comus Junior Member

Hi Guys
    I have some fret Buzz on the high E string of my acoustic guitar which is driving me a bit crazy
    I have been playing guitar since 1987 and have always set up my own guitars, I consider my a self to be reasonable proficient at setting up my own guitars how i like them to play, i have learn everything i know through watching video's and reading books and just getting my hands dirty and giving it a go.
    in fact i really enjoy fixing and fettling guitar and basses whether electric or acoustic.

I have an issue on my 6 string acoustic which is foxing me though, I have fret buzz on the high E string, i have checked the saddle height, nut height, neck relief etc, and i can find absolutely no reason why I am getting this buzzing, i put a capo on fret 1 and i could get a 25" feeler gauge under the second fret and the action at the 12th fret is 2.5mm.

without the capo on there is a very slight forward Bow on the neck and i can fit a 70" feeler gauge under the first fret and the action at the 12th fret is 3.7mm

I took the E string completely out of its slot on the Nut and put it on top of the nut next to the slot and tightened it up as i wanted to eliminate and possibility of the nut being at fault and it was still buzzing.

I have visually checked all of the frets and cant see any raised or popped frets on the high E side

Im beginning to wonder if i might have a slightly loose brace where the High E is Buzzing in Sympathy.!!!! (is this Possible) .iv had a feel inside with my hand and nothing seems to be loose

I have to say i have run out of ideas..so any suggestions would be greatly received

Thank you in advance for your suggestions

2. irocdave12

irocdave12 Senior Member