Finally broke down....

Discussion in 'Amp Modeling' started by Pwrmac7600, Aug 24, 2017.

1. Pwrmac7600

Pwrmac7600 Premium Member

so I was tracking today and my current headphones which I have been using for a couple of years now were pinching the hell out of my head. I have been contemplating picking up some Sennheiser HD 600 headphones. Much different beast than my current headphone being that they are open back as opposed to my current headphones that are closed back. I have been reading up on these phones for more than a year, but wasn't ready to drop the coin, until today. Should have em by the weekend, so I'll report back and let you all know how they sound with the Axe FX. I have very high hopes!

2. NeubyWanKaneuby

NeubyWanKaneuby Senior Member

I have Sennheiser HD280s, and noticed a huge difference in sound and comfort from the crappy headphones I was using.

Now every time I wear "normal" headphones, I wish they were my 280s.

Rhust and Pwrmac7600 like this.
  3. Rhust

Rhust Senior Member

the 280s get a lot of love. a lot of people do prefer the sony MDRV7506 but it's just that a preference... I'm still using a pair of Behringer HPS3000, when they break, I'll probably buy a pair of sony's...

4. Pwrmac7600

I have ATM50x and the Sony mdr7506. The AT's are much better phones. Looking forward to hearing how a open back phone sounds, supposed to be much better for mixing on. And since I am unfortunately forced to be on phones the majority of the time, I want something that may work a little better for not only my axe, but also mixing.

Rhust likes this.
  5. AmpedUp

AmpedUp Senior Member

I don't know much about headphones, but have used Yamaha HP-1's forever it seems like, and justt recently picked up some Tascam TH-300X's. I think the Yamaha's sound better even as old as they are. May have to look into Sennheiser eventually.

6. alstev

alstev Senior Member